Golconda // Rene Magritte // Surrealism 

golconda rene magritteLet me start off by saying surrealism is my favourite kind of art, its goal was to “resolve the previously contradictory conditions of dream and reality.” Not going to lie, every time I see Golconda the first thing that comes to mind is “It’s raining men! Hallelujah, it’s raining men!”, but here’s my real analysis of the painting. Every man is dressed the same, in a boring hat, a boring coat, they even have the same boring expression. The men could be either rising or falling, to me it seems as though they are falling, and makes me think that it represents children going into adulthood, and losing all the magic and fun. They’ve all molding into the same boring, ordinary man.

Leave a Reply

